Life lately

Less than a year ago, my parents left the country to seek a new life abroad. My father is/was there to begin the dream he’s always had and my mother was there to support him as a good wife should. I was left with the responsibility of taking care of the house–basically holding down the fort and officially entering that scary thing called adulthood.

Those months were terribly lonely. I was wrestling with all kinds of anxieties, and I had no one to talk to. I was left alone with thoughts that escalated into concepts that never were; at the same time, I was dealing with feelings that were terrifying to have when you’re all on your own.

But I made it till the New Year’s alone, cuddling with my dogs, and being perfectly fine with my solitude.

These days, while my mother has gone back to visit my dad, I look forward to the solitude of home. I get to leave the craziness of my job and rest my thoughts in the peace of a quiet environment. I am free to dance to my favorite tunes, make a mess in the kitchen, catch up to my reading, and actually return to the restless thoughts that I set aside on the workdays.

This time around, being alone is not lonely. It is a welcome choice–a decision I’ve made because it is exactly where I need to be. I am an introvert after all, and in a job that demands constant coordination and motion, I need an extra day to recharge that inward energy.

So thank you 2014, for making me suffer so I can learn solitude in its quiet and graceful form.

That said, since it is a Sunday: Sunday Currently Volume 2:

Reading
Still between the pages of The Diaries of a Young Poet by Rilke. His words are not only beautiful but practical yet powerful advice on how to deal with the scariness of life and emotions.

Writing
This.

Listening
“Run Away with Me” by Carly Rae Jepsen.

Thinking
About the beach, the quiet of a destination far from my habits and everyday spaces.

Smelling
The rain.

Wishing
For good weather this week and a little bit of lady luck for what has to be done, maybe.

Wearing
A Roxy shirt.

Loving
Carly Rae Jepsen. Walang kokontra, everyone needs their bubblegum fix. I’m just so sick of Taylor Swift’s landi hits. :))

Wanting

An actual vacation.

Needing
Money. Haha. What’s new?

Feeling
Sweaty. Just came from the front of the stove.

Clicking

The keyboard?

—-

Read about the original The Sunday Currently here.

Leave a Reply

