Of hellos and farewells

I remember how much I wanted to work with you. I first sent your publisher several of my amateur works to apply as a contributor. There was the courteous but ultimately, indefinite response. Then months later, a friend who was on board in your team informed me of an opening. Several article edits later, I had transformed a surf story into a piece that was published in your 2nd issue.

Fast forward to two years, three layout artists, two 2-week rush issues, three memorable trips, and everything in between. You’ve got a new look, a new team, and new chapter ahead of you. Same goes for me, as we are now running parallel to one another.

 

I could have left you on better terms. But maybe we both needed that “cleansing” for me to let you go.

People, places, things we run across are never really ours. You felt like you were ours (because back then, I did not work alone ;), but ultimately, you are an experience worth giving away as well.

To borrow from a sentence in my final paper’s outline on travel writing: Places will always change and so will the self as he/she discovers these spaces. Yet there is a permanence in impermanence, finding a new appreciation for what the country has to offer, no matter how defined or drastic its changes.

And with that, I officially bid adieu 🙂

Leave a Reply

