Starry nights

“So how many years na kayo?,” is a question people ask when my relationship is brought up. I started getting Bs at math in the 5th grade and my first grade in College Algebra was pasang-awa. I still always go back to the year I met you to make sure my count is right. I was off by a year yesterday when I told someone I knew from childhood, but it’s still (comfortably) overwhelming we will soon be turning five. I’m ahead of myself, as that count is four months away. But nonetheless, we’ve still gone a long way.

So I’ll put that journey in the form I know best: words. Our first song was Stella from Incubus. My second favorite song from my first love in music aptly summarized the infatuation, the wondrous beginnings of you and me getting to know each other. Fast forward to now, when we’ve gone through so, so much. And I just had to share that I found the perfect song two years ago; but it just hit me now, how it describes what we were, what we are, and what I’m willing to go through for our future.

Cosmic Love, Florence and the Machine

A falling star fell from your heart and landed in my eyes

I screamed aloud, as it tore through them, and now it’s left me blind

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out

You left me in the dark

No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight In the shadow of your heart

And in the dark, I can hear your heartbeat

I tried to find the sound But then it stopped, and I was in the darkness,

So darkness I became

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out Y

ou left me in the dark No dawn, no day,

I’m always in this twilight In the shadow of your heart

I took the stars from our eyes, and then I made a map

And knew that somehow I could find my way back

Then I heard your heart beating, you were in the darkness too

So I stayed in the darkness with you

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out

You left me in the dark

No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight

In the shadow of your heart

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out

You left me in the dark

No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight

In the shadow of your heart

Leave a Reply

