Writing on writing 2.0

I lack an imagination.

Wait, scrap that. I have been known to arrive at crazy ideas and conclusions. I lack the voice, proper sentence structures, and compelling dialogue to make those ideas concrete.

But I do not lack a mental organizer, recorder, or word/idea linker. I know what questions to ask someone with a story, and how to bring that story out in clear, concise sentences and properly sequenced paragraphs.

Yet to have an “original” (or new spin on an old) idea and write it into a story that makes you turn each page, wanting to know the central question to the plot? Meh. Good luck na lang sa ‘ken. My attempts have been futile. Practice makes perfect, but the hesitant editor in my insists it’s shit. Even I am boring myself.

George Orwell, you’re not helping!

[The] three characteristics a work of fiction must possess in order to be successful:

1. It must have a precise and suspenseful plot. 

2. The author must feel a passionate urge to write it.

3. He must have the conviction, or at least the illusion, that he is the only one who can handle this particular theme.

– Advice to writers

It also doesn’t help that my standards are: George RR Martin’s A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, and A Storm of Swords (everything after, zzzzz), Ryan Murphy’s American Horror Story (SINONG TATAY MO?! haha!), Stephen King’s The Shining, and Haruki Murakami’s Norweigan Wood. Wait, that does help, but who knows how many years it’ll be till I arrive at their caliber?

Oh the woes of a non-fiction writer.

Maybe I should dive into fan fiction. It’s where my world and the other meet, providing the character sketches, world(s), et al, but I am left to control the world to my wishes. Parang nag-mana lang ako ng negosyo, tapos kailangan kong ayusin. Or a business that was bought by new management–which sounds a lot like what I do regularly anyway, which is edit the hell out of articles.

Whatever my woes, I need to get out of my comfort zone and fast. Remaining stagnant is not an option!

Leave a Reply

