Making sense of things

Life is a tricky, funny, and difficult thing.

It’s never quite what we expect, no matter how many quotes we draw inspiration from or however how many ‘self-help’ books we read. We simply follow our gut, feel our way through the sticky situations or fall and then rise above the sh*t that happens.

I hate social media for setting up higher expectations. I hate it for making us put on a good show of how fabulous our lives are. I hate it for making it so easy to hide our fears, challenges, and problems. And I hate myself for having more of this to write about than the wonderful world I aspire for.

Then again, is it that world I really want? Will I really fit in? A friend did say, if at first you don’t succeed, redefine success. If the opportunities are null, then maybe it’s not meant to be.

Of course, there’s my fear. There are opportunities that pop up, but the timing sucks. I have other priorities–formal training, savings, bills, etc. I can’t just not work and wait for the “perfect, don’t settle as steve jobs puts it” job. I need to get by day by day. I need to find some semblance of happiness in such a decision as well.

Or maybe I just need patience. Patience for the better days; patience gives me time, which lets me get my act together for the bigger picture.

Leave a Reply

