Writing on writing 1.0

According to advicetowriters.com–which sometimes, is simply about the reality of writing:

Writing Is 90 Percent Procrastination

Writing is 90 percent procrastination: reading magazines, eating cereal out of the box, watching infomercials. It’s a matter of doing everything you can to avoid writing, until it is about four in the morning and you reach the point where you have to write.

In my case, there is the procastination of a profile article. My distractions? Reading on Steve Jobs’ death, twitter.com, flaming hot Cheetos and Ruffles, and soon enough, a YouTube video.

My current self-study has taught me the answer to writing is writing, hence why I’m using this blog as a “legitimate” excuse of procastination.

When I do write, the editor (the paid aspect of my job) in me criticizes my own work like crazy, begging that each word and sentence be refined. This is what happens when you spend more time fixing words than creating them. The article is never quite finished and I’m always too damn scared to make mistakes. Then again, it’s better I am at odds with myself than assuming I am that good.

After all, I have told a few fellow writers I’ve read their work, commended them, and they replied with “shrinks.” Humility is necessary for getting better.

I should really vary my sentence structures. Enough with the modifier ending with a comma to start each sentence.

Leave a Reply

