For a belated happy teacher’s day

I was raised by a teacher. She’s not a popular enrollee choice in my university due to her challenging requirements, and I’ve never quite understood what exactly she taught–both in the business and engineering departments. (Well, maybe I do understand differential equations, but I did have to repeat the class. Haha!) She teaches us another way at home, without a blackboard or set hours. Back in grade school, she would help me understand math or make me final exam reviewers (printed and everything! awesome, huh?). In high school, there was more advanced math to pour over, prom dresses to be picked, curfews to be followed and college decisions to be made. In college, she still tutored me through math and the rest of my life–friend problems, career choices, boy situations, what to wear, where to buy clothes, and all that necessary life stuff they don’t teach in the classroom. That’s probably why teachers are up there for me, along with doctors and volunteer workers. Because no matter how difficult the student can be (i.e. me), they will sit through everything for you until you get it. And once you’re ready, they will still be there to guide you in case you kind of doubt yourself.

Thank you mom. You’ve taught me many lessons. I know how to pick a great bag and shoes, bargain with tiangge vendors (and can probably do so in Bangkok in the future), and how to bake a delicious apple pie. But the best one I got from you is this. I’ll borrow some words from your fellow teacher, Taylor Mali:

I make them understand that if you got this (brains) then you follow this (heart) and if someone ever tries to judge you by what you make, you give them this (the finger).

You obviously didn’t phrase the last bit the way he did, but you told me to pursue my happiness and not money. And yes, I am happy and not rich, but happy nonetheless. I shall continue to strive to be as happy as you are and how happy you’ve made your family. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

