A new chapter

One of the greatest things I’ve learned in college was to be patient. And I don’t mean being able to wait long hours. It’s more about letting things fall into place and come in their own time. There are moments we wish would happen right now. I’d definitely want a million dollars, a boat, and a disposable income for shopping. But the universe will only provide what is necessary. I’ve learned this valuable lesson in the last two months. During the time my sister was hospitalized, my family needed me. It was only natural for me to be unemployed and help until she got better. The universe let things go at their natural pace. Despite the moments I wished I were earning, I knew my family needed my time and presence more than anything else.

Things got better for all of us. My sister’s surgery was successful. She is fast with her progress in surgery. Eventually, I was scheduled for more interviews. Once again, a journey was in place. I went from the other end of Quezon City to an unpopular location in Pasay for companies I’ve never heard of before. A part of me didn’t want a successful interview because of the location’s inconvenience. And I got my wish. The universe knew the inconvenience wasn’t worth it.

Soon enough, it was down to two companies. One was an online application; the other, via a friend’s referral. Both gave me challenging tasks to prove I’m deserving of the job.

In the end, I actually enjoyed the latter company’s challenge. It brought me back to what felt natural in college: editing and making words work. Without knowing this natural feeling, I wouldn’t have a career path in mind. Once again, everything fell into place. I knew working for this company would be it. It wouldn’t just be something to pay the bills. I’d have something to look forward to each day. Talking to the boss, I learned so much. This had to be it. It just had to.

And I got it.

It’s only my third day. Thanks to a lucky brownout, things were pretty chillax (read: lunch and a movie! haha!). But otherwise, I think this is something for the long-term. Environment’s awesome, work’s challenging but fun, and people are friendly.

Here’s to more beautiful times at Bella Luce. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “A new chapter

  1. "But the universe will only provide what is necessary."Work talk aside, I am having a very difficult time learning this…But otherwise, a big πŸ™‚ to your post. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. For a "guy"…I bake a mean apple pie myself.Hi. I came across your blog through another blog I follow and have signed up as a follower. When you’re free, please do visit me and let me know what you think of my blog and leave a comment. If you like, do follow as well. I am always open to great new people and interesting websites. Look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

