worth the splurge

In the last three weeks or so, I have not been living in my alabang home. My location residence has shifted between Asian Hospital and my lola’s house at Cainta. The reason? My sister got into a major accident in a South-of-Manila mall the family frequents. Both knees were dislocated and she’s been unable to walk. Thankfully, the surgery was successful and she’s on her way to complete recovery.

This major event means a lot of things for me and my family. My sister, mom, and I have more time to bond and agree with one another. I’ve realized through our limited living conditions that you don’t much to be happy. I guess the downside to earning stably is the convenience of having money to spend easily. Not that I’m against spending, but in the last few months, I was prone to getting a lot of stuff I don’t need.

But this doesn’t mean I’m against splurging once in a while either. Shopping is great for passing time but I’ve realized what’s really worth spending for: good company and good places. Nothing beats the ease of a delicious dinner with friends or memorable adventures in another country.

Travel is most definitely one of the major dreams I intend to accomplish. Hopefully in time, I’ll be able to embrace new lands and open my mind to the world. Of course, priority is the beautiful nation I already live in. After hopping the seaside islands of the Philippines, I can’t wait to explore the cuisine of Vietnam and fellow Southeast Asia neighbors. Experience is something that lasts years, unlike the wear, tear, and passing trends of clothes.

Leave a Reply

