Crazy, sometimes unkind, but worth it

The past two weeks have been crazy, with my writing assignments piling up (read: 25000 total word count) and the mega-crunch time review for finals with the kids. It started with deadlines every day for a week, plus oodles of practice exams to make for the students. Top that with some of them just plain LAZY to study–even if they KNEW the material by heart–4 hours average of sleep and cramming the assignments galore. This past week was the ultimate stretch, with more students’ schedules competing with my writing deadlines.

The mega pile up, however, was ultra-fulfilling in the end. I was very proud of my very first student, since he claimed most of his exams were very easy. As we reviewed his weak subjects like Filipino and Science, I could tell he definitely improved in understanding the material compared to two months ago. Seeing how much he’s grown makes my job so worth it. 🙂

The downside of course, is the lack of sleep from juggling long study hours with my writing. Then, there was a whole barkada of new students coming in to cram for finals. Just days before, with some of them catching up on subjects they were absent for (read: a DAY before the final exam). It was all about spoonfeeding for us–the disadvantage that comes with our job. Although we hone our long term students to eventually study well and remember things for themselves, the service orientation of the business must cater to the youth’s inevitable laziness. I didn’t exactly feel the wrath of the finals crammers, unlike my co-tutors, but the general vibe I got from them was generally displeasing. I have a good intuition for knowing what people are like by just observing and hearing–and boy I wasn’t wrong. They were more attentive and gentler when they had sessions with me, but I could only do so much in an hour. Thanks to their school’s spoon fed and very easy curriculum (I am so grateful to Woodrose and its fabulous teachers during my time! :), I could easily have them catch up. Luckily there was a good natured one in the bunch, who just needed practice and a few clarifications. As for the others, I only pity them in their academic future. I’d like to say they’ll eventually suffer the consequences, but the inevitable set up of Philippine society tells me their parent’s money will let them get away with a lot of things. Oh look, they got away by taking advantage of our patience, rest hours, and knowledge! 😛 I sold out, but heck, that’s an inevitable experience in being part of the work force.

This job has also taught me the beauty and wonder of younger children. My patience is HUGE for them, unlike when I had to deal with the arrogant high school students. The kids get away with a lot more because of their innocence and sweetness–somethings we lose once we decide “growing up” is a lot cooler. By growing up, I don’t mean taking responsibility. I mean the arrogance and laziness done when you’ve grown the necessary parts even if you know better. Then again, maybe I’m just basing all this on the rich spoiled brats of the south (think Blair Whaldorf without the clever nature). Hopefully their peers who know better will find a way to let them learn their lesson.

Leave a Reply

