Last Hurrah

My last written column for The LaSallian.

The greatest lesson I learned from college has no direct relation with my academic, extra-curricular or social life. It is something drawn from all these aspects; its application to be carried on as I enter the “real world.” In college, I learned that the phrase “no regrets” is possible. In order to learn the real meaning of this word, we must exhaust all the possibilities that have been presented to us. We must grab every experience we can get. Otherwise, you’ll end up looking back years from now, thinking “what if?” These “what if’s” are merely echoes of not ever being able to really know what could have been, what was, what will or what is.

Knowledge is the very reason why we start and finish college in the first place. It is more than just assuring one’s self of a better chance at a job after college. It is the time for us to really know where we stand as we transition into adulthood. This is why we should not hold back from the experiences handed to us or available to us in college. If we do not grab them, then one may not discover more about him or herself. Here a few guidelines for making the most out of the college experience.

To those who insist on not partaking in extra-curricular activities so that they may focus on their academics, I suggest you quit this mentality. The four walls of the classroom will get you distinction during graduation but the life lessons you gain from organizational work and meeting all kinds of people are priceless. Years from now, would you rather look back at your many distinctions that happened in a college life empty of life lessons or a handful of memories that helped you mature as a better person? This brings to my mind what my SPO director said about being part of a publication: interpersonal matters in the workplace became easier for her thanks to what she had learned from her non-academic experiences.

To those who join organizations or events for the sake of building up one’s resume, stop it. You’re not going to fool the job interviewer when he/she asks about the 10++ organizations you were part of in paper but never really participated in fully. Be part of the organizations that matter you that you know you’ll be good at, and that you can grow in. A substantial resume beats a long resume because it will reflect in your job interview. Spreading yourself thinly impedes one from truly knowing him/herself. Investing yourself in the right places and experiences allows you to become a better person and understand which situations bring out your best and worst.

Enroll in the classes of the so-called ‘terror’ professors. Terror is usually an exaggeration the reality of having to work hard in order to pass the subject. Some students may get away with 25% “easy 4.0” type subjects in their EAFs, but life after graduation (or even life in general) teaches us that anything (or anyone) worth having does not come easy. In order to get through life with through success, every challenge must be embraced and faced head on. The worth of your grade is proved once it has been applied, not according to what is written on your transcript. The measure of intellect greatly relies on how much hard work has been invested in honing it.

Enjoy. Don’t take things too seriously; get serious when a job has to get done. Make enough acquaintances but trust the right kind of people. Never get too arrogant but be confident enough to know your worth.

***

Humility is a virtue that enables one to come a long way. I’ve come a loooooong way since my first day of school, and I’d like to thank the people who got me to where I am now.

To Jabin and Melai, my fellow tough two this school year in The LaSallian—we’ve definitely had our share of the good, bad, and the ugly. But none of these things would have been enjoyable or bearable without the both of you by my side.

To Jeff and Airi, my two favourite companions amidst the madness of EB work. Jeff, thank you for being my constant source of laughter, wisdom, and tambay sessions. To Airi, thank you for the laughter you bring forth during layout. Eating is so much better with you.

To Crez, Gerry, Jenner, and Johna, for putting your best foot forward in all of your responsibilities. Continue being awesome in what you do. I know all of you will become great in the fields you are aspiring to be part of.

To the love of my life, for being the constant good aspect of my life, for being the man who continues to fight for me and vice-versa—thank you. You’re the reason why I cry whenever I watch the end of Slumdog Millionaire.

To Chessie, Darcy, Ogge, George, and RC, and of course, my darling Samantha, for your priceless company and the endless laughter (and booze) involved. Most of my best college memories were spent with all of you. For sure, there will be more.

To CHUCKIE, the very reason why I got into The LaSallian in the first place! Thank you for the unwavering guidance and constant friendship.

To my high school barkada, for being like fine wine—my girls who simply get better with age. I love you all and let’s create more and more memories in our future.

To my family, for only giving, teaching, and simply being the best.



One thought on “Last Hurrah

Leave a Reply

